Skip to content ↓

Zones of Regulation



What are the Zones of Regulation?

It is a concept to help students learn how to self- regulate. It creates a system to categorise how the body feels and emotions into four coloured zones with which the students can easily identify.

The curriculum’s learning activities are designed to help students recognise when they are in different states called “zones,” with each of four zones represented by a different colour. In the activities, students also learn how to use strategies or tools to stay in a zone or move from one to another. 

The Zones

The Zones can be compared to traffic signs. When given a green light or in the Green Zone, one is “good to go”.

A yellow sign means be aware or take caution, which applies to the Yellow Zone. A red light or stop sign means stop, and when one is the Red Zone this often is the case.

The Blue Zone can be compared to the rest area signs where one goes to rest or re-energise. 

Check In

All students have a Zones of Regulation check in system. The system in KS4 will look different to the system used in KS3. The check in system allows students to tell us how they are feeling, without having to do this verbally. They can change their zones card, whenever they feel they have changed into a different zone.

Students can check in throughout the day, this can be a good indicator as to how the students feel about certain times of the day. You can see when they feel triggered.

Zones of Regulation Toolbox

Students identify tools which help them to self-regulate and get back into the green zone. The green zone is used to describe a calm state of alertness. A person may be described as happy, focused, content, or ready to learn when in the Green Zone. This is the zone where optimal learning occurs.


Students can self-identify what helps them to calm down when they are feeling in the red or yellow zone.